I’ve got one day left in Morocco as I’m flying to Madrid tomorrow night.  Boo.  It’s only been two weeks since I got off the boat in Tangiers but it feels like two months.  Tangiers to Chefchaon to Fez to Marrakech to the desert and now I’m back in Marrakech.  I spent 3 days/nights in the Sahara with a guide who spoke only Arabic and a camel that tried running away every chance he got.  In the end we made it but there was one day I seriously thought the camel had run away for good and we were f’ed in the middle of the desert under a 120 degree sun.

It’s the first trip I’ve ever made with zero planning.  No guide book, no maps, no idea about distances or what to see.  The Camino taught me the difference between planning every minute detail versus planning just what you need to do next, and then taking it from there.  And it turned out to be more relaxed than most trips I’ve taken.  Usually I’ve got stuff lined up to see and hotels to check into, and I start to stress out inevitably about not seeing everything or something going wrong, etc.  But when you don’t have any obligations and you believe you will find a place to stay and you believe things will work out, then maffi mooshkeelah (no problem).  In Europe it’s easier to do this because you can buy last second tickets at reasonable prices.  They don’t gouge you like they do in the U.S.  I bought a one way from Marrakech to Madrid for <$100 on Easyjet. 

I’m trying to think of some interesting stories to share here but I guess I’m not in the right mood for it at the moment. I think I’ve got a case of the end of vacation blues.  I don’t want to head home just yet.  I could easily continue traveling from where I am today for another 6 months.  Why not?

